S3 Business Education

Course Overview

Our S3 course follows the Experiences and Outcomes outlined in A Curriculum for Excellence.

Methodology

We use teacher-led discussion, cooperative group work and many formative assessment strategies to give pupils the opportunity to demonstrate and improve their knowledge, practical skills and skills for learning, life and work.

Assessment

Pupils sit regular tests at the end of each unit of work. The tests assesses knowledge and understanding as well as problem solving skills. 

Homework

Homework is set regularly to support and consolidate classroom experiences. Some homework assignments will require pupils to carry out research in their own time.

Recording and Reporting

The tests form the basis for the comments in the pupil report issued to parents. Test results are also used to inform decisions about progression in S4, when pupils who choose to remain in the Business Education Department will study Business Management and/or Administration & IT at either National 4 or National 5 Levels.

 

Mrs Stevenson

Homework is due on the following dates

Homework 1 - June  - Wednesday 22 June

Homework 2 -  Tuesday 23 August

Homework 3 - September – Wednesday 28

Homework 4 - Tuesday 25 October

Homework 5 -  Tuesday 29 November

Homework 6 - December -  Wednesday 14

Homework 7 - Tuesday 31 January

Homework 8 - Tuesday 28 February

Homework 9 - Tuesday 23 March

Tasks 1 - 6

Tasks 7 - 9

 

 

Miss Purves

Homework is due on the following dates

Any overdue homeworks must be handed in by Mon 21st November to ensure a letter is not sent home.

Homework 1 - Thursday 23 June

Homework 2 -  Thursday 25 August

Homework 3 - Thursday 29 September

Homework 4 - Thursday 27 October

Homework 5 -  Thursday 1 December

Homework 6 - Thursday 15 December

Homework 7 - Thursday 2 February

Homework 8 - Thursday 2 March

Homework 9 - Thursday 25 March

Tasks 1 - 6

Tasks 7 - 9

 

Resources

Progress Checks

Sources of Finance: Powerpoint and Notes